The Power of Love

If you’ve read my last blog post, you’ll have seen one of my Jennifer Parker (Marty McFly’s girlfriend from Back to the Future) cosplays. Jennifer also has another outfit at the beginning of the first movie, so I decided to put together a cosplay for that outfit too. (Since this outfit only appears in part 1, it is only worn by Claudia Wells, and not Elisabeth Shue, who plays Jennifer in parts 2 and 3.)

First, I found a plain black waistcoat in a thrift store, and bought some light blue skinny jeans in one of my local clothes stores. (I searched online for a black waistcoat with a floral design like Jennifer’s, but I couldn’t find anything similar enough.)

The next item I got was the white floral shirt, which I purchased on eBay. I’m unsure as to whether or not mine is vintage, but it looks like it could be!

I also ordered some iron-on flower patches to add to the waistcoat. They’re not exactly the same as the ones on Jennifer’s, but they’re better than any waistcoats I found which already had a floral design on them.

The waistcoat with the flower patches attached

For the jacket, it’s hard to tell whether it’s a bomber jacket or an oversized denim jacket. I opted for a vintage-style pink bomber jacket which I found on Depop.

I already had the accessories for this outfit from my other Jennifer cosplay (the double banded silver ring, the watch, the earrings and the bag).

That only left two more items: the blue socks/legwarmers and the perforated ankle boots. I went on eBay again and bought a pair of actual vintage blue legwarmers from the 80’s and some Buffalo London perforated ankle boots (I’m unsure if they’re vintage). Jennifer seems to wear her boots with the tops folded over, so I did the same when wearing mine.

And the cosplay was complete!

I also bought a Hill Valley High School student I.D. card on eBay for my Jennifer cosplays. It doesn’t appear in any of the movies but I thought it would be a fun extra!

Jennifer Parker’s student I.D. card!
Ready for class!

On a side note, I use a straightening iron to curl my hair when cosplaying Jennifer, and it works quite well. I actually asked Claudia Wells on Twitter how she styles her hair like that, and she said she uses the old-fashioned hot rollers – I think I should invest in some too!

I decided to recreate the Jennifer shots from Marty’s band audition!

Poppy x

Published by pinkblossomcosplay

UK cosplayer Member of @leagueofsuperheroines Message for business inquiries and collabs!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started